Warning: ob_start() [ref.outcontrol]: output handler 'ob_gzhandler' conflicts with 'zlib output compression' in /home/cyberj/public_html/forums/header.php on line 606
Jazz Forums - I'm Still A Newbie at This Site
Jazz Forums
Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: I'm Still A Newbie at This Site
RonPrice

Mood: relaxed

[*] posted on 23-3-0909 at 07:52 Reply With Quote
I'm Still A Newbie at This Site

Many of the more famous jazz musicians have “dossiers” that is collections of memorabilia. The following article reminded me of the possible dossiers of the greats in the jazz world in the last century.
I came across this article: "Joseph Cornell/Marcel Duchamp: In Resonance---The Duchamp Dossier" several years ago in an electronic journal on the internet. The journal was called Other Voices, the issue was September 1998. The "dossier" was on display as part of The Menil Collection in Houston Texas USA from January 22 to May 16, 1999. I write about this article here and I hope some readers find my brief essay of value.:cool:

These were the last days of my full-time employment as a teacher after 30 years in the profession. These were the last months before I began to organize my own "dossier" after forty years as a Bahá’í. Since the "dossier" discussed in Other Voices had similarities to my own massive dossier, opus, oeuvre, or at least to some of the material in my collection of letters and notebooks, I drew on that article to write the following: